Bye-Bye To Yesterday

PangKing and Baby Kim

August 14 2011 Sunday, a few minutes before midnight.

I stepped outta my room and I saw him. He was sitting on the rocking chair in our living room. He looked healthy. He looked happy. Him with his chinese inhaler and glasses. He smiled as he saw me approach him in disbelief. And he spoke to me. Apparently, we were going somewhere and we were just waiting. We were alone in the house. All I could do was look at him. As I got closer and saw he wasnt as fragile as I last saw him, I gave him a hug. It was surreal. I felt his arms wrap around me. I felt his warmth. I just stayed inside his hug. He spoke. I said his name. He said to me ‘Bye-bye to yesterday’. There was more to that but that was all I remember as I just stayed there – inside his arms – inside my head, and pulled myself back to reality. As much as I wanted to stay there, talk to him, look at him, keep hugging him, I couldnt. I knew it wasnt real. I knew it couldnt be. Filled with tears, I opened my eyes to reality. I was still calling him out. Papa.

Another post from my old blog. Originally publised on August 18, 2011.

Leave a comment